Review: Boots Tea Tree & Witchhazel Nose Pore Strips

April 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

SAM_1505

I’ve never had particularly visible blackheads on my nose, but there are a few that I’ve never been able to quite get rid of. After trying these strips, I’ve added them to my skincare essentials! Read more for a full review.

Overview:

Rating: ☺☺☺☻☻ (3/5 happy faces)

Effectiveness: ☺☺☺☻☻(3/5)

Price: £4.99 (Boots)

Would I buy again?: Yes

Full Review:

I actually tried these because of my boyfriend; he complains a lot about getting blackheads on his nose, and when I mentioned nose pore strips to him he decided he really wanted to give them a try. Contrary to the reviews on the Boots website, I think these strips are a pretty effective blackhead removal, especially since they’re almost half the price of other ones that are available.

SAM_1506

The strips are packaged separately inside the box, and made of a soft paper-like material which is shaped into a vague nose-shape. The instructions say to wet your nose before application, then stick the strip on and leave it to do its work. They feel a little bit odd once they’re on, but it’s no worse than a dried mud mask. The instructions say to leave it for 15 minutes but then say “when the strip starts to feel stiff, gently peel off”, so I removed the strip as soon as it felt stiff and hardened (but not before taking hot selfies).

IMAG0034

I think waiting until it was stiff rather than the 15 minutes was up was the best thing to do, because I got better results than my boyfriend who left it on for the full 15 minutes.

The first time I used the strip, I just did exactly as it said on the box and was reasonably pleased with the results – it removed a good few blackheads (a few I hadn’t even noticed!), and again I think that taking it off before the 15 minutes was up was what made it work best for me because I didn’t get any of the negative side effects (sticky residue left behind, some skin peeling off too (!) and the nose left dry and itchy) that other users reported on the Boots website. There were, however, several blackheads left behind in my skin. Unfortunately I neglected to take any before and after photos! Sorry!

Today, I decided to have a steam over a bowl of boiled water before using the strip to try and really open up my pores. Unfortunately, I didn’t wet my nose enough and the strip only removed 2 blackheads! I decided to be a little bit naughty and go for another one straight away, and this time made sure my nose was really wet before application. The strip took off a lot of blackheads the second time (although I think I have myself to blame for a slightly sore nose – don’t use 2 in a row!), but still didn’t quite get them all. I took some photos, but there’s hardly any noticeable difference, despite the fact that the second strip took out a lot of blackheads. I’m putting this down to the fact that my blackheads are pretty small, though, and this is very early stages.

khchc-horz

I’m hoping that with regular use, the strips will do as they promise and reduce the appearance of pores and blackheads, so expect a follow up review in a few weeks’ time!

Summary:

These nose pore strips are pretty inexpensive and a lot cheaper than several other brands available. They worked pretty well for me, but it’s important to remember to thoroughly wet your nose before application otherwise they won’t work at all (and don’t use one immediately after another or you’ll end up with a sore nose). I think that the strips would work best immediately after a shower to ensure your pores and nice and open so they can work to their maximum effect.

Even though the strips removed a large amount of blackheads from clogged pores, there wasn’t much of a visible change for me. I’m hoping that in the long term, there will be a much more noticeable difference and in the mean time I’d definitely buy these again, although other (more expensive) brands may be better.

Have you had any experience with blackhead removal? What works best for you?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Boots Tea Tree & Witchhazel Nose Pore Strips at Little luxuries.

meta

