Pink, Pink, Pink! – Essie Van D’Go

May 7, 2013 § 4 Comments

SAM_1730

Happy May Day everyone! Yesterday I was feeling a little down (and a lot hungover) so I snuggled down in bed and looked out Essie’s Van D’Go nail polish for some pink therapy. It’s an absolutely lovely colour – a really nice pastel pink that reminds me of strawberry milkshake! I find that a lot of pale pink polishes don’t go well at all with my skin tone, but this one has a slightly more yellow undertone that really works well for me.

The polish itself is a little thinner than I’m used to with Rimmel’s nail varnish products; you need a reasonable amount on the brush to get a good coverage but it does go on very smoothly. The only problem I found was that this needs at least 3 coats to get a proper cover. It dried very patchy, even after I applied it quite carefully. You can see this in the following pictures – these were with only one coat:

SAM_1726SAM_1727

The polish has a lovely high-shine finish, even without a topcoat and dries pretty quick; it’s touch-dry and ready for another coat within a minute or so which is great for me because I’m awful at waiting for polish to dry.

So far it’s held up really well. There’s no chipping or anything as of yet and doesn’t even seemed to have scratched much! I love this polish!

What’s your favourite pink polish?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Pink, Pink, Pink! – Essie Van D’Go

  • This is such a lovely color. I’m looking around trying to find that perfect Essie color. I want a pink but I can’t decide on one.

    • withprettythings says:

      Essie have so many shades of pink it’s unreal. It took me forever to decide which one to buy. I did a Google image search for “Essie pinks” and “Essie pinks comparison”, there are quite a few pictures of people who have several shades applying them and showing them together for comparison which really helped me to pick one.

      Boots have just started stocking Essie polishes now too (up until recently you could only really get them from Amazon here) so it’s great being able to actually see the colours in the bottles in person before you buy.

  • […] Pink, Pink, Pink! – Essie Van D’Go (withprettythings.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pink, Pink, Pink! – Essie Van D’Go at Little luxuries.

meta

