Mascara Wars: Benefit “They’re Real!” vs 17 “Falsifeye”

May 17, 2013 § 9 Comments

mascara - vs

The other day I bought Elle Magazine and it came with a free sample of Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara. I was super excited because I’ve heard a lot of people being really enthusiastic about They’re Real! and I’ve been really wanting to try it, but I can’t really justify spending £19.50 on a mascara I don’t know if I’ll like. I decided to compare it to my current favourite mascara; 17’s Falsifeye which has a much more affordable price tag of £6.49.

My first impression of the Benefit mascara was that I really liked the brush. It’s a hard silicone/plastic type material and has lots of little spikes that look like they should really separate all your lashes. I like the little rounded tip too, because it makes it so much easier to catch those little fine lashes at the corners of your eyes. Falsifeye has a soft, bristled brush with a standard flat end that I was a little worried about at first, but its length and thickness means that it actually really works brilliantly – it catches almost all my lashes in one go.

mascara - bare

mascara - benefit

mascara - falsifeye

I found myself a little bit disappointed by the Benefit brush. The spines just weren’t quite long or strong enough to separate my lashes and they went into slightly spidery clumps. The formula also felt quite sticky and heavy and was really thick once it had dried. I also had to recurl my lashes which only made the clumpiness worse and I just didn’t feel like it gave my lashes the lovely length, definition and volume I would expect from a high-end product. My lashes sticking together got really annoying throughout the day too and I ended up poking at them a lot.

Comparing the Benefit mascara to 17’s mascara, I feel that 17 made my lashes look a lot longer and more defined at the tips and didn’t make them clump together at all, as you can see in the above pictures. My lashes also stayed more curled and even after recurling it didn’t clump. 17 feels less heavy on my eyes and I think it gives a much more natural look that’s still really full and defined whereas the Benefit mascara made it really obvious I was wearing mascara and was kind of uncomfortable throughout the day.

I think both mascaras have pretty equal staying power. They lasted all day and looked the same at night as they did in the morning and I’ve slept with both on and neither rubbed off on my pillow or bed sheets at all.

Unfortunately, I’m really disappointed with Benefit’s They’re Real! and I don’t think it’s worth its extremely high price tag. I’ll be sticking to Falsifeye, especially since I feel it works better and it’s almost a third of the price of Benefit’s mascara.

What’s your favourite mascara?

Remember, you can now follow me on twitter @w_prettythings!

EDIT (18/05/13): Whoops, is my face red… I just realised I put “Scandaleyes” instead of “Falsifeye” on the picture for Falsifeye. I’ve fixed that now.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Mascara Wars: Benefit “They’re Real!” vs 17 “Falsifeye”

  • BambiLeigh says:

    I always use benefit’s mascara, but mine’s just run out and I can’t afford more… after seeing this I think I’ll definitely be buying falsifeye!

    • withprettythings says:

      I’m glad I’ve managed to convert you! Tomorrow I’ll be doing another comparison with Falsifeye and Rimmel’s Scandaleyes, but Falsifeye is my absolute favourite!

      Thanks for commenting, if you do go for Falsifeye I hope you like it as much as I do!

  • Katie Hunter says:

    I’m glad I read this, I was considering buying Benefit’s mascara but now I may think twice! Still looking for a good cheap mascara, as my favourite now (YSL shocking) I was given for my birthday and can’t afford to buy for myself again 😦 I may have to try 17’s!

    justalittlesouth.blogspot.co.uk

    • withprettythings says:

      I’m glad it helped then! I was really surprised that They’re Real wasn’t better – I think every single budget brand mascara I’ve tried I’ve actually liked more!

      17 is a great brand (you can only get it in Boots though). It’s pretty affordable I think – if you look on the Boots website you’ll see that the prices are pretty fair. Every product I’ve tried from 17 so far I’ve absolutely loved!

      I also have Rimmel Scandaleyes mascara because it was in an offer, so tomorrow I might do another comparison so you can see that one too. Falsifeye is my favourite though!

      Thanks for commenting!

  • […] a couple of people commented on my comparison of Benefit “They’re Real!” and 17 “Falsifeye“ saying that it was helpful and they had actually changed their mind about re-buying They’re […]

  • I like the brush on Rimmel’s better! I may have to try that out 🙂

    • withprettythings says:

      The Rimmel mascara is lovely! It wears really well for me. As I said, it’s on offer in Boots in the UK right now so it’s worth a try! 😀

  • […] Mascara Wars: Benefit “They’re Real!” vs 17 “Falsifeye” (withprettythings.wordpress.com) […]

  • […] Mascara Wars: Benefit “They’re Real!” vs 17 “Falsifeye” (withprettythings.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mascara Wars: Benefit “They’re Real!” vs 17 “Falsifeye” at Little luxuries.

meta

