Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in “Stay With Me Coral (430)”

May 28, 2013 § 4 Comments

SAM_1920

Okay so I admit it… I might be becoming slightly obsessed with lipstick. It’s quite a new thing to me (I’ve only really begun to use lip products aside from balm in the last couple of months) but now I’ve managed to figure out how it works I love it. Recently I’ve become really attracted to the idea of wearing brighter lipsticks; up until Tuesday I’ve only owned a couple of nudes and natural-esque pinks that I’ve worn much. I wanted a lovely coral-y pink to bring myself into the world of brighter colours and make my lips stand out some more. This lipstick caught my eye because it was the exact colour I’d had in mind, and boy am I glad I picked it up! It is stunning.

Overview:

Rating: ☺☺☺☺☺ (5/5 happy faces!)
Staying Power: ☺☺☺☺☺(5/5!)
Price: £6.99 from Superdrug
Would I buy again?: Yes, yes, a thousand times yes! (in fact I already have)

Full Review:

As I said earlier, I was attracted to this lipstick because it was the perfect colour I’d had in mind and a pretty reasonable price. Maybelline make this lipstick in a total of 11 beautiful colours – some are block colour and some have a shimmery formula and they range from neutral shades to pale pinks to dark reds and purples. I chose “Stay With Me Coral” which as you may have guessed is a gorgeous block coral pink.

SAM_1921

The lipstick has a matte finish  which dries really nicely and is highly pigmented, although it can be a little tuggy-sticky as you apply (which I believe is pretty common for matte lipsticks). You get pretty good coverage with a few swipes and once it’s dried  it really is matte but I don’t find the formula in any way drying on my skin – I wore it without reapplying or applying gloss or balm for 4-5 hours before my lips even started to feel slightly dry. I do think, though, that this is a lipstick which will cling to any dry skin, so make sure you’ve moisturised and exfoliated your lips before applying! After blotting off the excess I loved how this lipstick looked, I had been feeling a bit blergh and gross-looking, but putting this on really brightened my mood. It is a little bit tacky/sticky feeling as it dries, but after 30-45 minutes this is gone and you can hardly even feel it’s there (and while it’s drying it’s really not that bad).

SAM_2030

My only issue with this lipstick is that you have to be careful about blotting. I think it’s best to wait until it’s dried otherwise too much product may come off and you can get uneven coverage that’s hard to correct. After it’s dried, you can either blot or leave it – it will come off on a few things on contact but I found about 3 kisses of a tissue and the transfer stopped. You should also watch for caking; if you apply a coat, let it dry and apply another one this lipstick will cake horribly! Make sure you get good coverage with your first coat before it dries.

The thing that really sold this lipstick to me was its staying power. I was pretty doubtful of the “14 hour” claim as most lip products hardly live up to a 4 hour time without eating or drinking (and there’s no way I’m going 14 hours without eating or drinking, thank you very much). The first day I wore this lipstick, I put it on as soon as I got home (at about 5pm). When I washed my makeup off at around 11:30, the lipstick was virtually intact. I hadn’t reapplied at at all and had freely drank tea and juice and eaten dinner wearing this lipstick and it was still on my lips. Very slightly faded, but still not particularly requiring a reapplication – it was only when I got really close up to a mirror that I could actually notice much of a change. My mum even commented on how well it had stayed. After a few blottings and some tiny little stains on one cup, it stopped transferring onto anything as well!

couple of hours

I was so surprised at how well this lipstick had lasted, but then the word “stain” crossed my mind and I just knew that it wasn’t going to wash off. Once again my doubts were completely misplaced; with just a quick scrub of Lush’s Ultrabland makeup remover and some warm water it came straight off and left my lips their natural colour.

I loved this lipstick so much that I went out and bought it in “Non-Stop Red” as well, which is my new favourite lipstick (and my first ever bright red!) and which you can see me wearing in my first ever OOTD post! I also wore his colour to the pub with my friend and had no issues with it coming off (although I was drinking with a straw..)

Summary:

Pros:

  • Non-drying on my skin
  • Incredible staying power
  • Really well pigmented colour
  • Once fully blotted there is very little to no transfer
  • Easily removed with makeup remover

Cons:

  • Will probably cling to dry skin
  • Multiple coats will cake
  • Have to be careful with blotting so too much product is not removed

Gorgeous colour, awesome staying power, and I can even eat and drink while wearing it and not worry… I love this lipstick. It’s fabulous and I need to go and buy all the colours now. It will definitely be going to the top of my “favourite products” list. I simply can’t recommend it enough.

Do you have any experience with this lipstick? What’s your favourite lip product?

Follow me on twitter @w_prettythings!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in “Stay With Me Coral (430)”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Review: Maybelline Super Stay 14hr Lipstick in “Stay With Me Coral (430)” at Little luxuries.

meta

