(Less Than A) Fiver Friday! – 17 Wet Look Lacquer Liner

May 31, 2013 § 1 Comment

Hello everyone! I hope your working week has been bearable enough and you have a lovely weekend ahead of you!

I’d like to welcome you all to a new installment on my blog – (Less Than A) Fiver Friday! Being skint most of the time, I’m constantly on the look for products which are high quality at low prices so I hope you enjoy my finds and perhaps save yourself some pennies too.

SAM_2089

Rating: ☺☺☺☺☺ (5/5 happy faces!)
Staying Power: ☺☺☺☺☺(5/5!)
Price: £3.99 from Boots
Would I buy again?: Yes!

17’s Wet Look Lacquer Liner has now become a staple in my makeup collection – as well as giving a really nice finish, it’s the best liquid liner I’ve ever owned – so it’s earned its place as the first product for Fiver Friday. And at only £3.99 from Boots, it’s an absolute steal!

It has a thin bristle brush and a nice, long, shaped handle that’s really easy and comfortable to hold. I also like that the brush section isn’t too long; I’ve had a few liquid eyeliners with long brush sections that were difficult to use because your hand is so far away from where you’re trying to apply the liner! It’s also nice that you can sort of adjust the thickness of the line you want to get by wiping off more or less product in the neck of the bottle.

SAM_2094

The product itself goes on really smoothly and dries really quickly – no chance of smudging! It’s also a really nice deep black that is highly pigmented. Although I did make the mistake of not wiping off any product and it sort of ran down the line I had drawn and right into my eye (mostly down to the fact that I’ve only used pen-liners for the last 2 years or so I think – I’m a little rusty!) The brush is just the right firmness that it’s really easy to draw along your lash line and get a really good cat flick.

As the packaging says, it is wet look and I actually quite like the effect it gives. It’s not REALLY wet-looking, but it’s not quite matte either. The shininess does kind of wear off slightly and become more matte, but that doesn’t really bother me.

SAM_2100

This liner also has great staying power – I can put it on in the morning and it won’t budge or smudge until I take it off at night. It removes easily with makeup remover (when you take it off it flakes into little pieces) and after forgetting to remove it and going in the shower it washed off fine with water too. I haven’t had a problem with the flaking at all.

The only issue I have with this liner is that I find it really easy to accidentally get product on the tips of my lashes which kind of sticks them together a bit. It’s not noticeable but makes it difficult to apply mascara. If you have an eyelash comb though I think this will be easy to fix.


Pros:

  • Stays all day
  • Doesn’t smudge
  • Highly pigmented, deep black
  • Low price

Cons:

  • Flakes on removal (I’m not even sure this is a con, it hasn’t caused any trouble for me)
  • Will stick your eyelashes together if you get it on the tips

This liner gives a great finish, is easy to apply and is really cheap! I love it!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to (Less Than A) Fiver Friday! – 17 Wet Look Lacquer Liner

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading (Less Than A) Fiver Friday! – 17 Wet Look Lacquer Liner at Little luxuries.

meta

