June’s Favourites

July 1, 2013 § 3 Comments

IMG_0078

 

Good evening everyone! It’s almost July which means it’s time to talk about June’s favourite products! This month I have quite a few favourites… I’ve found so many good things! Prepare yourself for a long post!

Lush’s Gorgeous moisturising face cream: Recently I went to Lush to ask for some samplers of face creams. The assistant was lovely and gave me 4 samples that matched what I’d asked for, including Gorgeous. I pretty much discounted Gorgeous because at £39.50 for a 45g pot it’s a little steep… HOWEVER. I tried it. It’s incredible. It smells amazing. Never has my face felt so soft and smooth and moisturised. I don’t know how I’ve lived my life up until now without it. I am indeed going to be heading back and spending the most money I’ve ever spent on a single beauty product.

BB Creams: Okay so I know I said I’m not the type of person to go and buy more than one of a product once I’ve found a good one but I do have a reason here, I promise! I’m not a fan of foundation – it makes my face feel cakey and uncomfortable, so I was delighted when BB creams started popping up on the market. These two are Rimmel’s 9-in-1 BB Cream and Maybelline’s Dream Fresh BB Cream. Maybelline’s cream gives a very light finish – it more smooths and evens skin tone rather than cover it up and has become a daily product for me. Rimmel’s cream gives a little more coverage that’s still light and I use it for nights out or other occasions when I want more coverage.

Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Lip Balm Stains: I’ve seen a lot of people talking about these stains and I finally decided to grab myself one. I cannot believe it took me so long to buy! These stains are brilliant – they have the coverage and shine of a gloss but the staying power of a lipstick and I don’t find them drying at all. Plus the crayon shape makes them really easy to apply and you can pop them straight in your bag and go! I have Rendezvous and Honey Deuce. Rendezvous is quite a bright orange which goes sort of coral on my lips. I bought it because I promised myself I was going to get something out of my comfort zone and I love it! Honey Deuce is more of a toned down dusky pink that looks quite naturalesque – it’s now my go to lip product for job interviews!

Rimmel Glam’Eyes Trio Eyeshadow: As I said in my makeup essentials post (which has now drastically changed and desperately needs updated), this is my go-to eyeshadow palette. It’s nice and compact so it fits perfectly into a small makeup bag and has shades that are great for any occasion. I use it when I want a natural, toned down smokey eye or just on days when I don’t really want to look like I’m wearing makeup at all. I’ve been using it a lot this month for interview makeup or lazy days.

L’Oreal Super Liner Black Lacquer: This liner has great staying power and I haven’t found it smudgey at all. It has a soft felt tip that makes application easy and comfortable and you can easily get as thin or thick line as you want.

Physician’s Formula Eye Enhancing Mascara Duo: I actually picked this up from TK Maxx just the other day, but in that time I’ve totally fallen in love with it. It’s a mascara with two colours – one is a platinum-bronze kind of colour and the other is plain black. I looked it up online and apparently these colours were chosen to enhance green eyes, but they look great with my brown. It says you can use the black as an every day mascara, the platinum as a more “flirty” colour or layer the platinum over the black for a dramatic look. I’ve tried all of these combinations and they look lovely! The mascara itself is a great formula too. The brush is brilliantly designed and really combs between all my lashes and the formula is non-clumping and lasts all day.

Rimmel Wake Me Up Shimmer Touch in Radiance Rose: So it turns out I like wearing blusher, especially when I wear BB cream. I hadn’t experimented much with it before but now that I have, I love it! I haven’t quite made my mind up about this blusher because it does have sparkly bits in it, but I have been using it a lot lately. It’s a cream blush and applies well and is really easy to blend.

Hair Products: When I comes to hair products, I’ve found that only high-end styling products really work well for me. I usually buy my products from the hairdresser and I have to say, even though they’re more expensive, they’re so much better and they last for ages! Aside from my usual heat protection spray (Catwalk By Tigi – Straight Collection Mystique – Haute Heat Protection Iron Spray) there are some other products I’ve been using a lot this month. I picked up a little bottle of Moroccan Argan oil from Primark on a whim, and I love it! It makes my hair so soft and shiny and smells great. I’ll definitely be buying more (probably high end) when I’ve used it all. Bed Head After Party cream is a lovely, light finishing smoother and helps to stop me getting any flyaways and adds some extra shine. Bed Head Hard To Get (the round blue pot) is a great styling wax. I use a tiny little bit of it if my hair is really frizzy and it really helps hold my style all day!

Have you made a post about your June favourites? If not, what are they?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to June’s Favourites

  • pearlsnheels says:

    I love Lush! I wish it wasn’t so expensive, but I have always wanted to try the face cream as well! I could spend a fortune in that store lol Thanks for the great post! 🙂

    • withprettythings says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

      Lush is quite expensive but I find that a lot of their things last quite a while! I’ve managed to convince my mum to go splits on a tub of the Gorgeous cream, thank goodness!

      • pearlsnheels says:

        You’re so welcome 🙂 and haha yes I totally agree, their products are amazing. It is nice using handmade natural products, that are pretty and fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading June’s Favourites at Little luxuries.

meta

